Our Purpose

A nonprofit 501c3 professional and public interest organization formerly known as the Hawaii Recreation & Park Association (HRPA). 

Members are vitally concerned with elevating standards and promoting high criteria of profesionalism in recreation and park activities. 

The scope of the Society's membership includes professionals, interested citizens, students and organizations in the recreation & park fields at all levels and areas of service.

What we're about...

HRPS is dedicated to advancing the recreation and park field in the state of Hawaii by expanding professional and educational opportunities for its members and supporting programs that provide improved leisure services in Hawaii. 

The Society acts as an independent voice for the recreation, park and leisure movement at federal, state and local levels and is an affiliate of the National Recreation & Parks Association.

2018 HRPS Board

President - Marc Koga
President-Elect - Iris Fukunaga
County Vice Presidents – Iris Higa, Hawaii
William Trugillo, Kauai
Kaeo Ah Sau, Maui
Jeremy Suyeyoshi, Oahu

Treasurer - Jayson Chun
Treasurer-Elect - Jeannie Pentz
Secretary – Anna Davis
Member at Large - Dana Katsutani
Member at Large - Kristl Zukemura
Member at Large - Candy Sakata
Member at Large – Courtney Noa

Annual Conference – Marci Tagawa
Aquatics - William Gardner III
Awards and Citations – Duane Fujiwara
Constitution/Bylaws – (vacant)
Legislative – Donna White
Media/Communications – Michael Riley
Membership – Jerina Dement & Courtney Noa
Professional Standards – Elizabeth Tsuruda & Kaipo Perez
Social – Jo-Ann Yatogo, Deloris Hairston, & Iris Fukunaga
Ways and Means – Jayson Chun &  Iris Fukunaga